Meet Dr. Chris Woolaver

This is where most orthodontists list their degrees and association memberships. Orthodontist pretty much all have 3 degrees. I have a B.Sc in biochemistry, a DDS, and a Masters Degree. It was a lot of work, I am proud of it, but it doesn’t tell you who I am. Here’s a little about me:

I was born with a cleft lip and palate. My first orthodontic experience was at about 6 months old, when my cleft was surgically repaired, and my last set of braces came off when I was 29. When I was 11 years old, I decided I wanted to be an orthodontist. It seemed like the natural choice!

After graduating, my wife, Allison, and I moved here to Ahwatukee. Our 2 kids, Maya and Ben were born here, and have grown up in our neighborhood. We love the community feel of Ahwatukee. It’s great to see kids that I coached in little league at the age of 6 come into the office now for treatment. Or it’s very fun to be trail running on South Mountain, and have the Desert Vista bike team ride by, yelling “hey, Dr. W!”

Needless to say, my personal experience definitely influenced how I practice today. My orthodontic journey was long and difficult, filled with all kinds of different appliances. So, in my office, I try to avoid early orthodontics. There are times it is necessary, but I feel there are far too many 7,8,9 year olds in our neighborhood with braces. I will never sell treatment. I offer honest recommendations for patients and parents to consider. The difficulty of my own experience also led me to be an early adopter of Invisalign for all case types. Keep it simple… orthodontics is technical, but it doesn’t have to be complicated and cumbersome for the patient. I try to make it as fast and easy as it can possibly be, while maintaining quality results.

So, that’s a bit of my story. Hope to meet you soon to hear your story too.

As Seen On